Congress wins 77 as Amarinder Singh turns 75, AAP Didn't Even Come Close
Congress wins 77 as Amarinder Singh turns 75, AAP Didn't Even Come Close

On his 75th birthday, Captain Amarinder Singh gave himself an impressive victory in Punjab, the only consolation for the Congress on a bleak day at national level. The Congress is making a comeback in the state after 10 years.
AAP didn't perform close to how some thought the debutant would and managed to win only 20 seats. The ruling SAD-BJP alliance managed to win just 18 seats.

The Captain Amarinder Singh-led Congress came tantalisingly close to winning a two-thirds majority in the Punjab Assembly, falling short by just one seat.
Amarinder said that his first priority would be to fight drugs. "The people of Punjab have given us a big mandate. I have vowed to finish drugs within four weeks".
By final results, Congress had won 77 seats with a 38.5 per cent vote share; AAP won 20 seats with a 23.8 per cent share. SAD-BJP, performing better than what exit polls had predicted, ultimately won 18 seats (SAD: 15; BJP: 3) on a combined 30.6 per cent vote share (SAD: 25.2 per cent; BJP: 5.4 per cent). The remaining two seats went to the Lok Insaaf Party.

For Amarinder Singh, who lost to Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal in Lambi but won from his home seat of Patilala (Urban), it promises to be a memorable 75th birthday. The veteran leader, who will become the next chief minister of Punjab, has already said that this is his final political foray.
Meanwhile Badal while talking to media, congratulated Captain and said that he will resign tomorrow.
AAP's Bhagwant Mann, one of the most watched figures in the Punjab Assembly election, lost to Sukhbir Singh Badal in Jalalabad.

It is interesting to note that the senior leaders of all the parties including Capt Amarinder Singh, Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, Sukhbir Singh Badal, Charanjit Singh Channi, Manpreet Singh Badal, Bikram Singh Majithia, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring among others have retained their position as winners while prominent losers include Tota Singh, Daljit Singh Cheema, Sikander Singh Maluka, Sohan Singh Thandal, Anil Joshi and youth Akali leader Raju Khanna.


your name*

email address*

You may use these HTML tags:<p> <u> <i> <b> <strong> <del> <code> <hr> <em> <ul> <li> <ol> <span> <div>

verification code*

Most Visited
You may also Like

Topic Cloud


Copyright © 2016-2017