BJP releases its first list of candidates for Punjab assembly polls
BJP releases its first list of candidates for Punjab assembly polls

Punjab BJP today announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly polls. of the 23 assembly seats it contests, the party has declared the candidates for 17 constituencies. The list was released after the meeting of the party’s parliamentary board in Delhi.
The party is contesting on 23 seats in Punjab while its alliance partner Shiromani Akali Dal in 94 of the 117 seats in the State, as per the seat-sharing arrangement.

Thye BJP’s central election committee on Thursday gave nod to the list of candidates for Punjab and Goa. Union Health Minister J.P. Nadda released list in New Delhi.
Party withheld the announcement for six others, where the party has sitting MLAs, indicating that some of them could be dropped. 

These six seats include four being represented by ministers in the SAD-BJP government. A couple of them could be dropped as they are over 75 years of age and some others are being seen more vulnerable in an election where the alliance is weathering 10 years of anti-incumbency.

 The second list of the remaining 6 candidates will be announced soon.

The state BJP has fielded Dinesh Singh Babbu from Sujanpur, Ashwini Sharma from Pathankot, B.D. Dhuppar from Dinanagar (Reserved), Seema Kumari from Bhoa (Reserved), Arunesh Kumar from Mukerian, Sukhjit Kaur Shahi from Dasuya, Tikshan Sud from Hoshiarpur, K.D. Bhandari from Jalandhar (North), Tarun Chugh from Amritsar (Central), Rakesh Gill from Amritsar (West), Rajesh Honey from Amritsar (East), Gurdev Sharma Debi from Ludhiana (Central), Kamal Chelty from Ludhiana (West), Praveen Bansal from Ludhiana (North), Harjit Singh Grewal from Rajpura, Arun Narang from Abohar and Sukhpal Singh Nannu from Ferozepur assembly constituency. 


your name*

email address*

You may use these HTML tags:<p> <u> <i> <b> <strong> <del> <code> <hr> <em> <ul> <li> <ol> <span> <div>

verification code*

Most Visited
You may also Like

Topic Cloud


Copyright © 2016-2017