Names of PPSC members & Information Commissioners recommended to Gov
Names of PPSC members & Information Commissioners recommended to Gov

Chandigarh: A High-Powered Committee, headed by Punjab Chief Minister Capt. Amarinder Singh, on Thursday recommended six names to Governor, V. P. Singh Badnore, for appointment as members of the Punjab Public Service Commission (PPSC). The Committee also recommended two names for appointment as Information Commissioners in the Punjab State Information Commission.

While names of Amar Partap Singh Virk (IAS), Gurpartap Singh Mann, Jamit Kaur Teji, Lok Nath Angra and Prof Neelam Grewal have been recommended for appointment as Official Members of the PPSC, Supreet Ghuman's name has been forwarded for the post of Non-Official Member.

For the appointment of Information Commissioners, the Committee has recommended the names of Khushwant Singh and Sanjeev Garg.

The high-powered committee of PPSC members appointments, comprising the Chief Minister, Speaker of the Punjab Vidhan Sabha Rana KP Singh, and Leader of the Opposition Sukhpal Singh Kaira, considered the names of candidates shortlisted by the search committee before making the recommendation to the governor.

During the deliberations, Khaira objected to the inclusion of Lak Nath Angra and claimed that another shortlisted candidate was better qualified for the post.

While Khaira's dissent on the matter was recorded, Angra's name was agreed upon by the Chief Minister and the Speaker.

The high-powered committee for the appointment of Information Commissioners, which included Cabinet Minister Sadhu Singh Dharmshot, besides the Chief Minister and Khaira, also considered the names shortlisted for the posts by the search committee. Khaira raised objection to the inclusion of Sanjeev Garg but since the majority view of the Committee was in his favour, his name was recommended along with that of Khushwant Singh.


Most Visited
You may also Like

Topic Cloud


Copyright © 2016-2017